Logo saying America's workforce network with American flag

Workforce Investment Act Operations Bulletin

Volume 3, Number 11

For the week ending March 19, 2004

(For Internal Use Only)

 

 

Technical Assistance and Training

Webinars on the O*NET "Ability Profiler" Set for March 25 and April 8

O*NET Webinars are live, one-hour training sessions that workforce professionals can attend from any computer with an Internet connection. These Webinars offer staff a fast, easy, and efficient way to learn more about O*NET, Workforce Investment Act, Human Resources, Education, and other workforce-related topics.

In support of the O*NET Ability Profiler, the O*NET Academy has scheduled two 60-minute webinars:

"How to Administer the O*NET Ability Profiler"
Thursday, March 25
Session 1: 12:00 PM Eastern (11am CT / 10am MT / 9am PT)
Session 2: 3:00 PM Eastern (2pm CT / 1pm MT / 12pm PT)

"Interpreting and Using O*NET Ability Profiler Results"
Thursday, April 8
Session 1: 12:00 PM Eastern (11am CT / 10am MT / 9am PT)
Session 2: 3:00 PM Eastern (2pm CT / 1pm MT / 12pm PT)

Note: This webinar will focus on the Ability Profiler Score report and its contents, interpretation, and use.

Attendees should have a working knowledge of the O*NET Career Exploration Tools. It is recommended that attendees have participated in a previous Ability Profiler webinars and have knowledge of Job Zones.

Cost: No Charge

To register for the Webinar, contact: http://www.onetacademy.com/onet_livetraining.cfm

Welfare Peer Technical Assistance Web site

New Resources have just been posted to the Welfare Peer Technical Assistance Web site on welfare-related topics such as: Healthy Marriage, The African-American Healthy Marriage Initiative (AAHMI), One-Stop Centers, and Homeless Assistance Programs.

To access these valuable new resources, please follow the links below:

African-American Healthy Marriage Initiative (AAHMI) Roundtable "Why Marriage Matters" Summary Report, March 2004. Contact: http://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/policies/family.htm#marriage

One-Stop Centers: Servicing the TANF Population, Workshop Final Report, March 2004. Contact http://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/policies/program.htm#general

How States and Counties Have Responded to the Family Policy Goals of Welfare Reform, December 2003. Contact: http://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/policies/tanf.htm#research

Overview of New York Homeless Assistance Programs, March 2004. Contact: http://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/policies/support.htm#housing

Overview of New Jersey Homeless Assistance Programs, March 2004. Contact: http://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/policies/support.htm#housing

New questions have been posted to the Interactive Q&A feature of the Welfare Peer TA Web site. Contact: http://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/qa/index.cfm

To submit one of your programs as an Innovative Program to be highlighted the site, contact: http://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/inn_prog/index.cfm

To make a TA Request contact: http://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/tarequest/index.htm

 

Events Upcoming ETA Meetings/Events

 

Partnerships

LifeWorks -- New Resource to Explore Diversity in Health Careers

The National Institutes of Health (NIH), Office of Science Education (OSE) has introduced Lifeworks, an interactive Web site featuring more than 100 careers in the health and medical sciences. It is designed as a resource for middle school and high school students, parents, educators, and school guidance/career counselors to explore the diversity of careers in the field.

At LifeWorks visitors can:

Contact: http://science.education.nih.gov/LifeWorks.nsf/feature/index.htm

 

Miscellaneous

National Emergency Grant-Massachusetts

The Department of Labor announced a National Emergency Grant of up to $2,559,959 to aid approximately 370 former employees of two Massachusetts companies—RCN, Inc., and UniCare Life and Health Insurance Company. An initial amount of nearly $1.5 million will be released immediately.

The grant, awarded to the Massachusetts Department of Labor and Workforce Development, will provide transition assistance to workers, primarily from Hampden County, who were affected by layoffs at the two Springfield companies. Contact: Doug Small (202-693- 3095; small.douglas@dol.gov)

Grant to Cuban American National Council under the Hispanic Worker Initiative

The Department of Labor announced a $1.485 million National Hispanic Worker Initiative training grant to the Cuban American National Council. This grant is the second one of its kind under a new nationwide initiative; the new grant will fund career services to at-risk Hispanic youth at community centers in Orlando and Miami.

The Cuban American National Council plans to enroll Hispanic youth ages 16-21 in the Labor Department-funded ALPHA program -- Academic Leadership and Career Prep for Hispanic American Youth. The goal of the program is to increase levels of high school graduation and college admissions through educational and career development training.

Participants will receive services including assessment of basic skills, tutoring, mentoring and occupational training. They will also receive referrals to address any medical, housing and substance abuse problems the participants may face. The Cuban American National Council will partner with One Stop Career Centers, Job Corps, local employers and institutions of higher education to implement the program.

The National Hispanic Worker Initiative is designed to focus the resources of the $15 billion public workforce system on the unique economic and cultural challenges faced by Hispanic workers. Earlier this week, U.S. Labor Secretary Elaine L. Chao kicked off the initiative with a $1.8 million grant to the Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees (H.E.R.E) International Union, for the purpose of training Hispanic workers for hospitality industry careers in Las Vegas, Nev., and Atlantic City, N.J. Contact: http://www.dol.gov/opa/media/press/eta/ETA2004426.htm